Thread: Brake booster

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Brake booster

I replaced my drum brakes with a set of rotors and discs from a 76 Maverick. The master cylinder and booster were included with the rotors. My questions are; do I need to use the booster? I'm asking because it looks like it will not fit without modifying the export brace (something I am not willing to do), can the master cylinder from the Maverick be used? It is a dual bowl, and finally, if the booster is necessary, what other options are available?
    As always, any and all help is appreciated.

Troy
    The pain is only temporary

I'm not an expert but I suspect you would not need to use that booster - a wheel caliper is a wheel caliper and the booster would not increase the volume of fluid your M/C pushes out. You may be able to use the old crusty M/C you have (removed from the booster) but would worry that the bolt hole location and actuation rod may differ (plus it's old and crusty). I would buy a NEW M/C for a '67 Mustang and be sure it is Disk/Drum. Use your old actuation rod from the Falcon single bowl... if that is gone you can buy adjustable guys... the one provided with the Mustang M/C is too long and would require a ridiculously huge shim between the firewall and new M/C to allow the brakes to fully release.

This is assuming you still have drums on the back...

You are correct on that Jeff. You do NOT need the booster. All the booster does is take a rod from your pedal, and for lack of a better description, uses a bladder type balloon with the vacume from your engine to increase the force put on the rod that goes from it to the master cylinder. Kind of a rough description but hopefully you get the idea. I like jeff's idea of the new M/C, who knows what shape the old one is in. After all these are your brakes.