Thread: Keeping it Stock

Keeping it Stock

HI!
    I'm really new to all this. I would like to keep my car as stock as possible, but I realize that will be almost impossible unless I "happen across" NOS parts or old parts at swap meets.
    How much does it devalue the car if I replace engine parts etc? The exhaust manifold is going to be replaced, and it's in the shop right now having the generator fixed. I would also like to upgrade the brakes so I don't have to try to stop half a mile from stop signs, hahhaa. Does this affect the value much? Or does "keeping it stock" mainly pertain to the body and interior? Does it even matter?
    Thanks in advance for offerings of knowledge.
    Michelle

Sadly the Falcon isn't in the realm of original brings more value. Not yet anyway. Value is inching up in general, but I think people will probably pay more for better than original when it comes to these. The concept of original=value really only applies to certain muscle cars and high-collectible value cars. Falcon isn't there.

That doesn't mean a car restored to original as you are watching Don do to his Grand Fathers car isn't worth doing - but it will not mean it is worth more. It will be worth more than if it were never done, but I would not consider it an investment. It'a hobby. It may be worth more to a special person or to the builder (due to sentimental value) if kept original, but you'd have to find that special person - or not care it is costing more than the car will ever be worth. And I am pretty certain you'd never be offered what you invested into it.

I think most of us here lean towards original if not safety related and modify if safety is improved. And modify it if you want to just for modifying sake. I can assure you some of the more heavily modified cars (BadBird, Doghows, PBrown) are worth more after modification than if they were stock.
    Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
    powered by: 347ci stroker | Tremec T5 | 8" 3:45 TracLoc rear