Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Mustang

The Mustang

has left the building...

Most of you have read about the 65 Mustang I've been working on for the past 9 months. It was one of those "while I'm at it" sort of projects. The car has now left my garage and is now in his, and my wagon is now back home and will now see a lot of work leading up to the Regional in August. I'm glad to see the Mustang gone, but it's also sort of a downer. My friend has yet to see it. He's been in the hospital now for about 6 weeks, and hopefully he's going to recover enough to drive it. Lot's of rehab yet for him, but he said to me there's no greater incentive than what he has waiting for him when he gets home. Let's hope it's enough.

Here's some pictures:

Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
    powered by: 347ci stroker | Tremec T5 | 8" 3:45 TracLoc rear

Roger, That looks really nice. I'm glad it is a motivator to get him home and back on his feet. Everyone has to have something to look forward to.

Thanks Jeff. Let's hope so.

I wish I had taken a picture when it was all finished. I was just in such a hurry. I was trying to drive it to Renton on Father's Day because the weather was good... and didn't make it. Then I stayed home Monday to finish and finally about 1 PM got about 2 miles down the road and couldn't help but turn around due to a loud grinding noise. New front wheel bearings, 4 hours and $60 later I got it out there, but at about 8 PM Monday night. And the next day it was raining here again. So it all worked out.

That's kind of a temporary paint job/scheme, but it may be what it has for a long time. It still needs a LOT of body work and I've already put about 100 hours in bodywork already.

Here's all I did:

New rear frame rails
    New Gas Tank
    New trunk sheetmetal (interior)
    New taillight panel
    New PS quarter panel
    New Hood and front fenders
    Every inch of wiring inspected, repaired, rewrapped.
    New interior (Pony deluxe)
    New windshield