Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cancer in suspension

Cancer in suspension

Hi,

I am a newbie as I just brought home my latest addition to my garage. It is is very good shape all around, body is a 8+ or 9 out of 10, all trim is in place, top will hold up for at least another 1 o 2 years. The interior is definitely tired and worn, but I would give it a 5 out of 10. She is an automatic with a 170 and she hums right along rather nicely. After I got her home yesterday I noticed that the frame under the drivers side has rusted away (not sure how I missed that after all the time I took to review her before buying her). There seems to be some serious cancer in place which makes me think, 1.- can anything be done w/o spending a fortune ? after what I saw I am sure there must be more it is just a matter of getting her up on the rack at the local body shop.

Question is, where should I take her to get a fair estimate, is this common (I know it's a 40+ year old car) has anyone replaced their frame or at least sections of it ?

Any and all help is always appreciated.

Thanks

Take it to Elliot at Elhot Metal Fab for a look. He can take care of it. It's just a matter of cutting out the bad steel and replacing it with good.
    Patrick Brown
    331 Stroker / T5 / 8" / Wilwood Disks / RRS R&P Steering / Megasquirt EFI

thanks pbrown,
    does that mean that the frame is welded to the body vs. bolted ? (uniframe, unibody)
    also, any recomendations on who to take it to down here in So Cal? I assume the shop you recomended is local to you in Seattle..

thanks again
    Erick

Erick,

Yeah, I think Patrick missed your introduction thread where you said you were in SoCal.