Thread: Transmission Needed

Transmission Needed

I'm in need of a shift-o-matic 2 speed and torque converter for my 62 4-door. If anyone has one they can sell, hit me up.

Thanks
    -Andy

djnuklearburrito@gmail.com
    360 359 6499 (cell)

You should really consider changing to a C4 three speed if you can.
    Patrick Brown
    331 Stroker / T5 / 8" / Wilwood Disks / RRS R&P Steering / Megasquirt EFI

Do they make C-4's for the early style I6? I've not seen a bell housing myself that mates the two.
    Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
    powered by: 347ci stroker | Tremec T5 | 8" 3:45 TracLoc rear

Quote Originally Posted by Luva65wagon View Post
    Do they make C-4's for the early style I6? I've not seen a bell housing myself that mates the two.
    I thought there was. The C4 was available in 65. Weren't those 170 powered Falcons? The 200 was first built in 63 but I don't know when it made it into the Falcon. I'm no expert on those engines missing two cylinders.
    Patrick Brown
    331 Stroker / T5 / 8" / Wilwood Disks / RRS R&P Steering / Megasquirt EFI

I should know this... but can't remember. The Ford Six Performance Handbook (http://falconperformance.sundog.net/) covers the different versions of the C4. I loaned my copy to the guy building up my 200, so I can't look it up. However, I believe there was an early version, "small bell housing" that would bolt up to the early 170/200. Later C4's used the same bolt pattern as the V8. Later 170/200 engines had extra holes so either trans could be attached (or was it the trans that had extra holes? I just don't remember, and can't find an answer in any of my other books).
    Anyhow...
    I HIGHLY recommend the Ford Six Performance Handbook. Buy one!
    If all else fails, once I get the new 200/C4 installed into my '63, I'll have a surplus Ford-o-matic (surplus 170 for that matter!). It'll probably take another year, though.
    Gary MacDonald
    ROGER's...
    EX... '63 Hardtop
    Had...