Rainier Falcons > The FalconForum  

Go Back   Rainier Falcons > The FalconForum > General Forums > Tech Talk

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 10-21-2013, 06:59 AM
olgraybeard's Avatar
olgraybeard olgraybeard is online now
Active Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Eatonville
Posts: 68
Headlight circuit breaker?

After about 1 hour of running time my 63 Econoline pickup headlights start blinking does this have a circuit breaker (where is it located).
__________________
Olgraybeard

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 10-21-2013, 12:03 PM
BPVan's Avatar
BPVan BPVan is online now
Senior Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 293
Blog Entries: 3
AFAIK there is no circuit breaker, just a fuse on the back of the switch. Is it consistently an hour? What is the frequency of the blink? Here is a shot of the 67 shop manual wiring, I don't think much changed from 63:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2013-10-21 at 12.02.34 PM.jpg (93.9 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Brian
'67 Falcon Bus/240/C4/Offy DP/MSD Duraspark II/Holley 4160
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 10-21-2013, 01:13 PM
Luva65wagon's Avatar
Luva65wagon Luva65wagon is offline
Chapter President
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 4,419
Blog Entries: 4
My guess would be a failing switch. If the contacts are getting hot the switch may be thermo-cycling where the contact gets so hot it pulls away, cools, reconnects, gets hot, pulls away, cools, reconnects, so on and so forth.

The switch itself may have a thermal cutout built-in for this heat stress issue. They are not fused (usually) and it may have been their way of keeping the switch from just melting down. Would have to open one up. I have about five or six used '65 switches. May just pry one open and see what's inside one of them. It'll be close to yours in design.

Of course, I don't know any of this for sure. Just 'pothesisizing.
__________________
Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
powered by: '65 289-V8 | T5 | 8" TracLoc rear


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 10-21-2013, 01:23 PM
Luva65wagon's Avatar
Luva65wagon Luva65wagon is offline
Chapter President
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 4,419
Blog Entries: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPVan View Post
AFAIK there is no circuit breaker, just a fuse on the back of the switch. Is it consistently an hour? What is the frequency of the blink? Here is a shot of the 67 shop manual wiring, I don't think much changed from 63:
So the 67 had fuses on it like the 63 Falcon did? Them crazy Ford guys.

These fuses were not to fuse the headlight circuit, for what it's worth. These were taking the juice that was sent to the headlight switch directly from the battery and then fusing it before going to other items; like the turn signals and flashers (as shown in the diagram) or whatever else they fed. The headlight switch feed was not fused as best as I can tell. Lots of wiring in a Falcon is ripe for shorting out. We should all add a fusible link or two under the hood. Hum... sounds like a tech article in the making.
__________________
Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
powered by: '65 289-V8 | T5 | 8" TracLoc rear


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 10-22-2013, 06:41 AM
olgraybeard's Avatar
olgraybeard olgraybeard is online now
Active Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Eatonville
Posts: 68
Looked at my shop manual for a 63. The fuses are not for the headlights but there is a circuit breaker built into the switch. It doesn't give any more details than that. Lucky it usually doesn't start blinking until a block from work. If it gets worse (I know it will) I'll put in a universal light switch and a fuse block with a plug in circuit breaker for headlight and fuses for the rest.
__________________
Olgraybeard

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 10-24-2013, 07:03 PM
SmithKid's Avatar
SmithKid SmithKid is offline
Paid Chapter Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everett
Posts: 926
Didn't see this thread until now. Yes, the headlight switch has a circuit breaker inside (not sure if all years). I once had a '60 Ranchero I used for carrying dirt bikes to/from Mattawa that had the switch start blinking while descending Snoqualmie Pass on the W side at 70 mph (very exciting). Found that this only occurred when on HI beam so made it down safely and traded the switch out the next day & all was well again for the next week-end trip.
__________________


Gene Smith
Everett, WA
'65 Ranchero Deluxe
302, 4-Spd
Granada Discs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A circuit breaker? ew1usnr Tech Talk 8 08-21-2013 07:04 PM
Odd idle circuit issue Edelbrock 1406 Luva65wagon Tech Talk 3 09-26-2011 05:22 PM
Bad headlight switch? Sedanman Tech Talk 4 12-11-2009 08:22 PM
Headlight relay Coldraynze Tech Talk 2 09-02-2007 08:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.