Rainier Falcons > The FalconForum  

Go Back   Rainier Falcons > The FalconForum > General Forums > Chit Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2012, 09:23 PM
64SprintV8's Avatar
64SprintV8 64SprintV8 is offline
Active Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Redmond
Posts: 86
Bench test a Tach with a Battery Charger?

Has anyone ever bench tested a Tachometer with a battery charger as explained below:
******************************
When hooked it up to a V-8 tach's input (+ve to tach +ve and -ve to gnd), it shows exactly 1800 rpm.

A 120 Vac 60 Hz battery charger puts out an imperfect DC voltage. It is actually a pulsating DC voltage that corresponds to


1800 rpm for an 8 cylinder,
2400 for a 6 cylinder
3600 for a 4 cylinder


I did this with my tach and although it lit up the needle never moved. Suggesting that it is kapput if the above test is valid.

Last edited by 64SprintV8; 02-19-2012 at 11:34 PM. Reason: Answered my own question, update above.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2012, 12:02 PM
BillP 98201's Avatar
BillP 98201 BillP 98201 is offline
Paid Chapter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Marysville
Posts: 446
Is it an original Sprint tach? Read in modified mustangs that Ford had a design flaw....... they hoooked up their tachs different. If the sprint dies..... it could be from the tach being hooked up different. Get scared now every time I look at my tach.....
__________________
Bill Proctor .. 1963 Falcon Sprint. Looking forward to learning new things.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2012, 12:23 PM
Luva65wagon's Avatar
Luva65wagon Luva65wagon is offline
Chapter President
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 4,347
Blog Entries: 4
Yeah, I couldn't answer the original question for sure (other than to say, "why not just use a real motor to test it" ) but I do know they ran the ignition circuit through the tach, so it the tach fails, the engine dies. And then you have to bypass the tach to get the car running again.

I don't have one, but if I did I would figure out what that bypass is and wire a switch in to throw to bypass the tach in one second.
__________________
Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
powered by: '65 289-V8 | T5 | 8" TracLoc rear
63.5 Hardtop (previously MacDee's "Freddie")
powered by: Classic Inlines 200-6 | C4 | 7.25 rear


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2012, 08:41 PM
64SprintV8's Avatar
64SprintV8 64SprintV8 is offline
Active Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Redmond
Posts: 86
It is not an original Sprint tach it's a 2 5/8 Sun mini. I had it hooked up to the car as well and no joy there either. Looks like new/old tach time for me. The Early Bird Swap Meet at the Puyallup Fair is in a few weeks (2/18-2/19) maybe I can pick up something cool there.

Last edited by 64SprintV8; 01-31-2012 at 09:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2012, 09:26 PM
Jeff W's Avatar
Jeff W Jeff W is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,316
Blog Entries: 3
How does that meet compare in size to the spring meet in Monroe?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2012, 09:40 PM
Luva65wagon's Avatar
Luva65wagon Luva65wagon is offline
Chapter President
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 4,347
Blog Entries: 4
I go every year. It is the big one at that location; about the same size as Monroe, maybe 25% smaller. I like it because it feels a bit less disjointed to maneuver to each booth. I never leave there feeling like I didn't get to see every vendor.
__________________
Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
powered by: '65 289-V8 | T5 | 8" TracLoc rear
63.5 Hardtop (previously MacDee's "Freddie")
powered by: Classic Inlines 200-6 | C4 | 7.25 rear


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2012, 08:22 AM
BillP 98201's Avatar
BillP 98201 BillP 98201 is offline
Paid Chapter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Marysville
Posts: 446
Im going also. Maybe someone could show me how to bypass this later.... Maybe on the tech day.
__________________
Bill Proctor .. 1963 Falcon Sprint. Looking forward to learning new things.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2012, 11:55 AM
Luva65wagon's Avatar
Luva65wagon Luva65wagon is offline
Chapter President
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 4,347
Blog Entries: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP 98201 View Post
Maybe someone could show me how to bypass this later.... Maybe on the tech day.
Does anyone have a wiring diagram for a 63 Sprint with the tach option? If so, it would be easy to draw up a plan for the bypass.
__________________
Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
powered by: '65 289-V8 | T5 | 8" TracLoc rear
63.5 Hardtop (previously MacDee's "Freddie")
powered by: Classic Inlines 200-6 | C4 | 7.25 rear


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2012, 10:47 PM
64SprintV8's Avatar
64SprintV8 64SprintV8 is offline
Active Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Redmond
Posts: 86
Will these suffice?

https://skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx...IJEZGcNSt5Xbv8

Last edited by 64SprintV8; 02-02-2012 at 10:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-03-2012, 12:05 AM
Nathan289's Avatar
Nathan289 Nathan289 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deer Park
Posts: 1,100
Blog Entries: 1
I'd be very careful testing a sprint tach.. I don't think they are designed to see a full 12v. Kinda like ford points

Some of the very old sun pro tachs needed a box to make them work. With out the box you had a cool looking dash orinment (sp?)

Autozone sells the new sunpro II and they are like $30 probably made in china.

Hopefully you'll find some vintage tach at the swap.. I found a cool auto gauge tach that was still in the box.. it had been opened but never installed.. its sitting in the garage still not installed..

Nathan
__________________
Nathan and Jen Cooper
63 Sprint Hardtop "Dollora"
63 Super deluxe squire wagon "Mayble"
* this spot is vacant for future project*
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-03-2012, 12:22 PM
Luva65wagon's Avatar
Luva65wagon Luva65wagon is offline
Chapter President
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 4,347
Blog Entries: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 64SprintV8 View Post
That might help. Pretty fuzzy, but I'll study them closely. Gracias.
__________________
Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
powered by: '65 289-V8 | T5 | 8" TracLoc rear
63.5 Hardtop (previously MacDee's "Freddie")
powered by: Classic Inlines 200-6 | C4 | 7.25 rear


Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-19-2012, 11:33 PM
64SprintV8's Avatar
64SprintV8 64SprintV8 is offline
Active Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Redmond
Posts: 86
******************* U P D A T E ***********************
I verified that the battery charger test does work.

Basically, hook all wires to power and the remaining black wire to ground/negative. Attached are some pictures. The new tach is showing 1,800 RPMS as anticipated. The others tested bad and are just there for reference. Oh, and I am not keeping the white face tach, it was just for testing. That is why the wires were carefully removed from the back of the packaging.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2012-02-19_14-23-43_703.jpg (59.2 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg 2012-02-19_14-37-01_551.jpg (61.4 KB, 18 views)

Last edited by 64SprintV8; 02-20-2012 at 09:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
24F Battery with Tabs redfalken Tech Talk 42 07-06-2016 05:34 PM
65 battery apron in a 62 Jon Richard Tech Talk 13 11-25-2008 11:48 PM
In need of a bench seat BillP 98201 Parts Wanted 2 09-24-2008 06:56 PM
1964/65 falcon bench seat supertape Cars and Parts For Sale or Trade 7 12-16-2007 08:50 PM
Looking for a bench seat. Nathan289 Parts Wanted 2 06-13-2007 01:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.