Rainier Falcons > The FalconForum  

Go Back   Rainier Falcons > The FalconForum > General Forums > Tech Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2014, 11:43 AM
doghows's Avatar
doghows doghows is offline
Senior Forum User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sequim
Posts: 2,110
Uncle brake switch help

Ok I've searched and searched and cannot find a picture of this brake switch conversion. I figured while I was doing the front disc swap I'd convert to the under the dash switch. I have the later brake pedal so I thought this would be easy. I installed the switch wired it up and no worky. Now if I manually depress the switch viola brake lights so I know the switch is good. Why won't it work when I press the brake pedal?? Did I miss a shim or something?

Anyone got a pic of their setup?
__________________
63 Sedan Delivery
5.0 HO EFI AOD 8" rear
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2014, 01:13 PM
Jeff W's Avatar
Jeff W Jeff W is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,316
Blog Entries: 3
If the light goes ON when you push the button, sounds like it is Normally Open. The switch I put on my rig is Normally Closed. But with your non-standard brake pedals I don't know what you need.

I just pushed out the rubber stop bumper from my stock pedal and inserted the Ford Truck switch helf in with two jam nuts.
__________________

Jeff Watson
Seattle, WA
'63 Tudor Wagon (170 - 3 spd.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2014, 01:19 PM
doghows's Avatar
doghows doghows is offline
Senior Forum User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sequim
Posts: 2,110
Thanks Jeff, I searched for another hour or so and found a link where you talked about it and had the part number. So I ran down (40 miles round trip) to my local parts house and got one. I'm going to install it as soon as I give the dog a bath, clean the shower, mow the back yard, wash the van, help make dinner, etc etc etc. it's all good.
I have that little square bumper on mine to and after looking it seem to be the way to go. Thanks!
__________________
63 Sedan Delivery
5.0 HO EFI AOD 8" rear
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2014, 03:42 PM
Luva65wagon's Avatar
Luva65wagon Luva65wagon is offline
Chapter President
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 4,349
Blog Entries: 4
The brake master push rod has to have a squared off end where it interfaces with the switch. They are tricky to figure out, so you went the right way with the other type of switch, which is the way we do it on most swaps.
__________________
Roger Moore

63 "Flarechero"
powered by: '65 289-V8 | T5 | 8" TracLoc rear
63.5 Hardtop (previously MacDee's "Freddie")
powered by: Classic Inlines 200-6 | C4 | 7.25 rear


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2014, 04:03 PM
doghows's Avatar
doghows doghows is offline
Senior Forum User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sequim
Posts: 2,110
Yup had the right pieces just not the right knowledge. A little search turned up the easiest way. It's all good now.
__________________
63 Sedan Delivery
5.0 HO EFI AOD 8" rear
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake Light Switch erievon Tech Talk 2 08-28-2010 08:53 PM
Backup switch BadBird Tech Talk 0 06-07-2010 01:30 PM
Wiper Switch??? doghows Tech Talk 10 04-01-2010 02:12 PM
Bad headlight switch? Sedanman Tech Talk 4 12-11-2009 08:22 PM
brake switch falcon cobra Tech Talk 1 10-14-2008 03:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.